Log in

2022 Annual Meeting and Healthcare Awards

June 30, 2022 

5:00 PM CT - 8:00 PM CT 

 Program Booklet  |  Past Years Highlights Video | Award Winners  

The 2022 Annual Meeting & Healthcare Awards was a fun-filled evening at the sophisticated VenueSix 10 in the south Loop. The event began with a private cocktail gathering for Fellows only in the 'Fellows Circle,' then opened to cocktails and networking for all guests.  Over 125 guests enjoyed the evening while overlooking Grant Park and enjoying the view of Chicago's Buckingham Fountain. 

In addition to networking, IOMC conduct its Annual Business Meeting. The new Board of Governors were announced during the Annual Business Meeting. Immediately following the business meeting, the evening proceeded to honor and celebrate its 2022 Healthcare Award recipients, recognize the 2021 Healthcare Awards recipients, and special guests at the evening's event. 

The 2022 Healthcare Awards winners were honored shortly after dinner and opening remarks by the new IOMC President and Chair, Mr. Raul Garza, MBA, CEO of Aunt Martha's Health and Wellness.  Dr. Helene Gayle, Dr. Lisa Green, Ms. Donna Thompson, RN, MS, UOI Emergency Room Team, and the Ukrainian Medical Association of North America- Chicago Chapter were honored with awards during the evening festivities.  

Helene D. Gayle, MD, MPH 

CEO, Chicago Community Trust 

The featured speaker is Helen D. Gayle, MD, MPH who is the CEO of the Chicago Community Trust. Dr. Cheryl Rucker-Whitaker, current IOMC President will interview Dr. Gayle about her experience in healthcare advocacy, pushing boundaries to reduce healthcare inequities, and experience in building successful strategic partnerships. 

2022 Healthcare Awards 

2022 Lifetime Achievement Award- Donna Thompson, RN, MS, CEO of ACCESS Community Health Network

2022 Innovation in Healthcare Delivery Award - Lisa Green, DO, Family Christian Health Center

2022 Innovation in Healthcare Delivery Award (System) - University of Illinois – Emergency Department -Better Health Through Housing

2022 Humanitarian Global Health Award - Ukrainian Medical Association of North America- State of Illinois  

(We wish to honor the 2021 award recipients since no in-person convening was held due to the COVID-10 pandemic)

Recognize the 2021 Healthcare Award Winners 

(We were not able to honor them in 2021 in person due to COVID-19 pandemic restrictions.)

2021 Lifetime Achievement Award - Mark Shields, MD, MBA

2021 The Henry P. Russe Citation for Exemplary Compassion in Healthcare Award - Melissa Simon, MD. MPH

2021 Innovation in Health Care Delivery Award- Angela Moss, PhD, RN

2021 Humanitarian Global Health Award- Neli Vazquez-Rowland, President & Co-Founder of The Safe Haven Foundation 

2021 Special Public Service Awards

Ngozi Ezike, MD, MPH, State of Illinois, Public Health Director, formerly 

Allison Arwady, MD, MPH, City of Chicago, Commissioner of Public Health 

Rachel Rubin, MD, MPH, FACP, Sr. Medical Officer & Co-Leader of Cook County Dept of Public Health 

Kiran Joshi, MD, MPH, Sr. Medical Officer & Co-Leader Cook County Dept. of Public Health 

Karen Ayala, MPH-Executive Director, DuPage Health Department

Barbara Jeffers, Executive Director(retired), Kane County Dept. of Public Health 

Susan Olenek, MAOL, Executive Director, Will County Dept. of Public Health

Melissa Adamson, MPH, Public Health Administrator, McHenry Dept. of Public Health 

Mark Pfister, MSES, DrPhc, Executive Director, Lake County Dept. of Public Health & Community Health Center 

Thank you to our Sponsors

Supporter Level 


Table Sponsors 




Thank you everyone for making this event successful! 


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software